Lord Ganesha is a Womanizer!

July here it goes and comes the month of August, and there arrives Lord Ganesha Festival (Birth anniversary) and I really don’t know how old is Ganesha, he should be over 10,000 years old (or even might have to add a few more zero’s).

I was sound asleep on cloudy and rainy Saturday of last September. I was awakened by annoying music and I got up with an intention of using a couple of cusses to my bachelor neighbors. I opened my door with a thud and they were right there in the balcony just as annoyed as I was and staring at me as though I was the culprit to all the noise, but it was coming from the street and we exchanged pleasantries with each other.

Its time for Lord Ganesha Procession and beginning of immersion of idols in lakes, rivers or sea, and I had totally forgotten about it, a few years back I used to be a part of it and enjoyed it a lot. Earlier we used to go in processions dancing to keerthan’s and bhajan’s and never to Bollywood tunes  leave alone western songs, but things have changed, today Lord Ganesha was a Womanizer!

I know what you are, what you are, baby

Womanizer, woman-womanizer, you’re a womanizer

Oh, womanizer, oh, you’re a womanizer baby
You, you-you are, you, you-you are
Womanizer, womanizer, womanizer

It looks like people have totally lost the spirituality, integrity, societal values of Ganesha Festival, now its all about which pendal’s Ganesha is bigger, louder music, expensive, prasadam, etc which actually reflects the egoistic twist these festivities have taken.

These procession went on for the entire day and it was really annoying to listen to the songs they were playing and dancing to:

1. Lungi Dance

2. Main Tera Hero

3. Beegay Honth tere , remix version

4. Balam Pichkari

5. Halkat Jawani

6. Chikni Chameli

7. Shiela ki Jawani

8. Munni Badnaam hui

9. Jalebi Bai

10. Fevicol Se, etc…… it never ends

Is these the songs which our toddlers and youngsters should associate with god, prayer, devotion, etc. Here the leaders in society have to step-in and take up corrective measures, I will try to make efforts to bring about a change to this.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

