Problems of being an Insomniac

I can’t  sleep beyond three hours in a day, and it seems really odd for many who think I am some sort of a freak who  can keep an eye out for them, always.

wpid-wp-1401867694330.jpeg

Its amazing how people, especially  during my first few interactions with them, they don’t even know what’s my problem and still sympathize my condition. Don’t sympathize my condition I am totally healthy, and normal and not disabled (shit, oops I have to be politically correct as well ) differently able. Only thing different is I sleep less, a lot lesser than you, less  than 50% of what you do.

The problems (people sympathizing or misunderstanding me and my condition) doubles when I am traveling, I travel on weekends to be with my family who 400 miles from where I work. If I have to go for overnight journey this problems jumps many fold and many a times these things have led to funny, as well as embarrassing situations.

After facing few embarrassing situations I tried to act that I was sleeping, while I was wide awake, bingo  problem solved, actually it didn’t but it back fired. It was much more embarrassing when people realized that I was acting to be asleep. On few occasions my co-passenger was pretty lady or a super hot babe (the kind who gives an instant boner),  my recognition changed from a freak to a creep. How would one explain insomnia after you have been caught, not caught but sort of caught.

A few days later I decided, I wouldn’t care about what others think or feel. I would be awake when traveling, now I usually pack a few books or open my laptop or mobile, at least others now think I have some sort of important meeting or presentation and I Am working on it. But people many times object that I am disturbing their precious sleep.

Why should minority always adjust to these normal (majority) people?

Leave a Reply

